#14: My Takeaways from the Course

I am a digital immigrant but I love messing with technology and especially using it in teaching.Naturally I was happy to take the technology course with Dr. Madyarov this year. From the previous course with this teacher I had discovered google sheets and docs and have been implementing them in my teaching ever since. (I have been teaching through skype and google docs and sheets have a big role in my classes).

If you read my previous posts you can get an overall image of all the technological tools we have touched upon at our class. They all sound interesting and have educational value. So naturally I have already tried out many of them with my students in private tutoring context. They are:

-Digital storytelling: I have implemented this with 5th graders (face-to-face) and 9th grader (Distance Learning). They were telling about their family and flat.

Blogging: I and two classmates have set up a blog where our students interact, comment, and make posts.

-I use google docs for collaborative writing with my face-to-face students and also as workbooks and a blackboard with my DLL students. We use google sheets as a place to store vocabulary entries, where all my students can view each others’ sheets and revise words and expressions or find mistakes and notify their peers.

-I have been using posdcasts as audio materials for listening activities, though I don’t find it reasonable to have my students make podcasts because of the time involved. Instead, we have been using Fotobabbles.

-We also have been using comics with my face-to-face students, both adults and children. We use pixton.com in particular.

-Many others will be gradually implemented, as I can see how they motivate my students.

All these tools are used in Armenian context so based on my experience I can say that they are feasible and accessible to may learners.

But what about public schools? not many of them have access to internet and can provide necessary equipment for technology integration. Here I think Mobile Assisted Language Learning is fully realistic to implement, as most of the schoolchildren have phones and smartphones with access to the internet.
P.S. I want to thank my university and my teacher for the great course. From the very first day of the course it has contributed to my teaching as I have implemented many of the tools and the results are promising

 

 

 

 

Leave a comment

Filed under REFLECTINGONHOMEWORK

Leave a Reply

